

2021 Annual General Meeting Virtual Meeting Wednesday June 23, 2021

## 1. Call to Order

President Shannon Favaro called the Annual General Meeting to order at 10:00 am PST

Members of the Board Present:

- Shannon Favaro SR/WA
- Nancy Sinclair SR/WA
- Crystal Greenlay SR/WA
- Brian Taylor SR/WA
- Jay Wong SR/WA
- James Hardy SR/WA
- Koby Godwin SR/WA
- Keith Turner SR/WA
- Dawn MacDougall SR/WA

President Vice President Treasurer Secretary Region 8 Vice Chair Region 8 Chair Region 10 Chair Region 10 Vice Chair Past CRWEF President

Additional members of the CRWEF present via the internet and phone.

## 2. Quorum

CRWEF Vice Chair Nancy Sinclair SR/WA confirmed Quorum

## 3. Welcome and Introductions

CRWEF President Shannon Favaro SR/WA gave welcoming remarks and introduced the board of directors. In addition, she welcomed and acknowledged special guests

Acknowledge special guests IRWA president - Mr. Jacob D. Farrell, SR/WA IRWA President elect – Mr. James A. Olschewski, SR/WA, R/W-NAC IRWA Vice President - Ms. Judy Jones, SR/WA, R/W-AC, R/W-NAC IRWA Treasurer - Mr. Fredrick L. Easton, Jr, SR/WA, R/W-AMC IRWA Secretary – Denise L. Skinner, SR/WA

IRWA Past presidents Ms. Sharon N. Slauenwhite, SR/WA Gordon E MacNair, SR/WA Wayne Goss, SR/WA Randy Williams, SR/WA Sandy Grigg, SR/WA

Thank you to Jamie Rose and Jade Meador who are in the background helping to facilitate today's online meeting.

Note: Voting at today's meeting is limited to Canadian members only.

Acknowledged previous donations, the foundation did receive a couple of donations this past year, so on behalf of CRWEF, thanks to:

- Sandy Grigg SR/WA\$300
- Chapter 66-\$500

CRWEF also received a donation from HQ in the amount of \$6,356 Christina Thoreson \$500, in honour of IRWA Sharon N. Slauenwhite, SR/WA's service to our association.

Also like to acknowledge Cyndi Whelpley, SR/WA, and Denise Skinner, SR/WA for funds raised at conference approx. \$1500

\*\*\*Later in meeting, Paul Connor of Chapter 29, president elect, indicated donation from Chapter 29 of \$3500 to the CRWEF

## 4. Approval of Minutes, 2020 Annual General Meeting

Minutes of last year, circulated in advance and posted on website. Motion to accept Moved Brian Taylor, seconded by James Hardy

## **Motion carried**

## 5. Business from Minutes:

## a. Financial Report

Financial Statements Presented by Crystal Greenlay SR/WA Motion to accept financial statements as presented Moved by Nancy Sinclair/ James Hardy

#### Motion carried

## b. 2021/2022 Annual Budget

Discussion of travel decreases in expenses last year, and a modest increase for next fiscal year to reflect funding of 4<sup>th</sup> executive director **Scholarship** – \$2,500 scholarship program for high school students entering post secondary education in related ROW field to continue **Sponsorship** – Webinar and course development – details below **Conference booth** not used as we are virtual this year **Stationary / couriers** – expenses of \$40 related to transfer of materials between incoming treasurer and secretary

Any questions:

- Legal/accounting request to increase the legal budget to \$2500, to allocate for special resolution and audit advice
- Travel to forums why was approval given for just the fall forum, why not spring? Discussion and clarification – Shannon clarified this was for region forums – it is not limited to only spring or fall forum.

Motion to accept the Annual Budget Moved by Nancy Sinclair, seconded by Dawn MacDougall

## **Motion approved**

## c. Scholarship

Brian Taylor, SR/WA Secretary advised that for this year's program there was tremendous interest this year in the scholarship; 50 applications. The scholarship was awarded to 2019-20 Scholarship Winners: Bryn Deobald of Saskatchewan.

## d. Sponsorship

CRWEF President Shannon Favaro SR/WA gave an update on this year's sponsorship program and recipients.

- Region 10 webinar- Boomers, Xers, Ys and Zeds The Multi-**Generational Workplace**
- 431C course development problems in partial acquisition.

## e. Audit

The CRWEF had an audit completed last fiscal year. Audit is required every 3 years and as such, President Favaro proposed we waive the requirement for an audit this year.

Motion to waive the appointment of an auditor to conduct an audit on CRWEF's financial records for Fiscal Year 2020-2021 Moved: Nicole Anderson/ Seconded: Cynthia Dubeau

## Motion Carried

## 6. Ratify decisions of Board

Vote to ratify all the decisions made by the BOD over the last year Moved by Cynthia Dubeau, seconded by Sharon N. Slauenwhite

## Motioned Approved

#### 7. New Business

No new business raised.

## 8. Election of officers

Nominations received in Advance:

- Nancy Sinclair SR/WA
- Crystal Greenlay SR/WA
- Brian Taylor SR/WA

For the position of Secretary, we have to candidates running:

- Cvnthia Dubeau
- Nicole Anderson

Election conducted by Dawn MacDougall, past president of chapter 65, Election called to order.

a. Office of Secretary of the Canadian Right of Way Education Foundation

Nominations already received:

- President Vice President Treasurer
- Region 10
- Region 8

- o Cynthia Dubeau
- Nicole Anderson

Called for any other nominations from the floor, 3 times- none made

Motion to close nominations

Moved: Brian Taylor/ Seconded Crystal Greenlay

Motion Carried, nominations closed.

Candidates provided opportunity to speak.

Election poles opened.

Nicole Anderson region 10 elected.

## b. Office of Treasurer of the Canadian Right of Way Education Foundation

Nominations already received:

o Mr. Brian Taylor

Called for any other nominations from the floor, 3 times – none made

Motion to close nominations, and Elect Brian Taylor by acclimation

Moved: James Hardy / Seconded Cynthia Dubeau

Motion Carried, Brian Taylor elected.

# c. Office of Vice President of the Canadian Right of Way Education Foundation

Nominations already received:

o Crystal Greenlay

Called for any other nominations from the floor, 3 times – none made

Motion to close nominations, and Elect Crystal Greenlay by acclimation

Moved: Nancy Sinclair / Seconded Brian Taylor

Motion Carried, Crystal Greenlay elected.

## d. Office of President of the Canadian Right of Way Education Foundation

Nominations already received:

• Nancy Sinclair

Called for any other nominations from the floor, 3 times – none made

Motion to close nominations, and Elect Nancy Sinclair by acclimation

Moved: Cynthia Dubeau / Seconded: Shannon Favaro

Motion Carried, Nancy Sinclair elected.

Congratulations to all new elected officers.

Thank you to Shannon for your service and commitment to the CRWEF over all these years! Thank you and all the best!

## 9. CRWEF meeting for 2022

Vote to approve the location of the next AGM to be held in Cleveland, Ohio in June, 2022

Moved by Dawn MacDougal, seconded by Nancy Sinclair

## Motioned Carried.

## 10. Adjournment.

Motion to Adjourn

Vote to adjourn the meeting

Moved Cynthia Dubeau, seconded by Nancy Sinclair